Rob Ford is at it again

Any publicity is good publicity, right? Rob Ford seems to think so.

Last Monday night Rob Ford was yet again caught on camera. This time he wasn’t smoking crack. He was, however, in a drunken state, speaking boisterously in a Jamaican accent, and repeatedly swearing in Jamaican Patois at a fast food restaurant in Etobicoke.

He also seems to be cursing the police officers who were allegedly tailing him this past summer. Not such a great statement from the man who is supposed to be running Canada’s largest city.

CBC has published Rob Ford’s statement regarding the video in their article, he stated: “I met some friends. If I speak that way, that’s how I speak with some of my friends and no, I don’t think it’s discriminative at all… It’s my own time.”

Not only could that statement, along with the video, offend many people in Toronto and Canada, but the fact that Ford believes what he does on his own time doesn’t affect his image or credibility is absurd.

As the  joke (mayor) of Toronto who is looking to be re-elected soon, Ford should be more aware of his public image than ever. Ford’s image in social media, which has gotten him attention all over North America, is absolutely appalling and has practically destroyed his political and professional credibility.

I’m sure if one more video of the mayor in “his own time” surfaces his entire publicity team will quit their jobs.

My advice for Ford? Stay away from camera phones, or stop going out in a drunken stupor.

Rob Ford

-Lily Maase

Photo sources:

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

Leave a comment